Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Differences between deleting and inactivating an asset

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

Differences between deleting an asset and inactivating an asset in Sage Fixed Assets Depreciation

Description

Both options remove the depreciation for the asset from most standard reports.

Resolution

Inactivating assets:

  • The asset disappears from nearly all reports as if it never existed. Only the File Listing Report and Asset Additions Report continue to display the asset
  • The asset stops taking any further depreciation
  • You can still view the asset in detail view, but not modify it
  • The system assigns an activity code of I to the asset. The asset displays as Inactive in the Asset List view
  • You can use the Reactivate option under the Asset menu to make the asset active again

Deleting assets:

  • Deleting an asset will permanently remove the asset from the company in Sage Fixed Assets
  • There isn’t an undo for a deleted asset except to Restore Company from backup. Before deleting assets, follow How to back up a company to create a backup
  • The system won’t reuse the system numbers of deleted assets

 

Need more help?

Chat now

 

Related Solutions