Differences between deleting an asset and inactivating an asset in Sage Fixed Assets Depreciation
Both options remove the depreciation for the asset from most standard reports.
Inactivating assets:
- The asset disappears from nearly all reports as if it never existed. Only the File Listing Report and Asset Additions Report continue to display the asset
- The asset stops taking any further depreciation
- You can still view the asset in detail view, but not modify it
- The system assigns an activity code of I to the asset. The asset displays as Inactive in the Asset List view
- You can use the Reactivate option under the Asset menu to make the asset active again
Deleting assets:
- Deleting an asset will permanently remove the asset from the company in Sage Fixed Assets
- There isn’t an undo for a deleted asset except to Restore Company from backup. Before deleting assets, follow How to back up a company to create a backup
- The system won’t reuse the system numbers of deleted assets
- Solution ID
- 222924150017239
- Last Modified Date
- Thu Sep 17 15:48:01 UTC 2026
- Attributes
-
Product Information
Tier: Lite
Tier: Lite50
Tier: NW
Tier: Prem
Tier: SFA50
Tier: SU
Version: 2026-0
Version: 2026-1
Version: 2027-0
Modules: Depr
- Views
- 0