Change the status of a General Ledger account or sub account
Description

Only accounts with a status of active can receive postings from the General Ledger module or other modules.

An account with a status of inactive can’t receive postings.

An account with a status of deleted indicates that the account conflicts.  It’s removed during year-end processing based on activity and the selection at the Years to Retain History field in the General Ledger Options window.

Cause
Resolution

>Change the status of accounts or subaccounts

TIP:

This process assumes you used the main account to create related accounts.

 Select General Ledger, Set up, Main Account Maintenance or General Ledger, Setup, Sub Account Maintenance.

  1. Select a General Ledger account.
  2. Click the dropdown, then select a Status for the account.
    • This field shows the current status for the account displayed in the Account No. field.
    • If any segment is inactive or deleted, the field shows Inactive or Deleted, but you can change it.
  3. Click Apply.
  4. Use Apply Changes to update selected fields for all related accounts.
    • You can update fields even if you didn’t change them during this session.
  5. Click Yes to save changes.
  6. Select the Apply box for all applicable fields.

NOTE:

The system updates the main or subaccount and applies selected changes to all related accounts.

 

>Change the status of individual accounts

  1. Select General Ledger, Main, Account Maintenance.
  2. Select a General Ledger account.
  3. Click the dropdown, then select a Status.
    • The field displays the current status for the account in the Account No. field.
    • If any segment is inactive or deleted, the field shows Inactive or Deleted, but you can change it.
  4. Click Accept.

>Delete a main account after year-end processing

After you complete Year End Processing and delete the General Ledger account, delete the main account if no subaccounts exist.
  1. Go to General Ledger, Setup, Main Account Maintenance.
  2. Select the applicable Main Account.
  3. Click Delete.

Need more help?

Chat now

 
Steps to duplicate
Related Solutions

What is the recommended Period End or Year End order of closing for modules in Sage 100?
How to change General Ledger account description and apply changes